Mircea Tiberian

Born in Cluj, Romania, in 1955, Mircea Tiberian spent his childhood and adolescence in Sibiu (South Transylvania) where he made his debut at the International Jazz Festival in 1974. He currently lives in Bucharest.

Along the years he has performed the world over with such musicians as Larry Coryel, Tomasz Stanko, Herb Robertson, John Betsch, Lisle Ellis, Maurice de Martin, Chris Dahlgren, Horst Nonnenmacher, Adam Pieronczyk, Theo Jorgensmann, Nicholas Simion and outstanding Romanian jazz artists such as Johnny Raducanu, Anca Parghel and Dan Mandrila. As a pianist and composer Mircea Tiberian has been working in the cross-over field of Jazz, Improvisation and New- Music in diverse setups and casts. The work of the last 20 years is documented 19 albums.

Mircea Tiberian is a doctor in music and teaches at the National University of Music in Bucharest coordinating the Jazz Department, which he set up in 1991.


  • Romanian Composers Union Award (1990, 1996, 2000, 2003)
  • Romanian Musician of the Year Award (2003, 2007, 2008)
  • The Enescu-Brancusi Scholarship granted by the Romanian Cultural Institute (2006).


  • “Tehnica Improvizatiei in Muzica de Jazz” (A Course of Improvisation Techniques), Editura UNMB, Bucharest, 2005
  • “Notes on Music and Music Notes” (Book and CDs), Editura Muzeului National al Literaturii Romane, Bucharest, 2005
  • “Cartea de muzica”(An anthology of musicology studies), Editura Tracus Arte, Bucharest, 2008

Intercultural Projects:

  • Liniada (2000)
  • Agnus Dei (2001)
  • Les annes folles de Bucharest (2004)
  • Jazz and Cinema (2005 –prezent)
  • Dark (2006)
  • Eurotique (2006)
  • Jazzy Tarot – musical (2007-2008) – Metropolis Theatre Bucharest


  • Magic Bird (Electrecord 1990)
  • Never Ending Story (Blue Label 1992)
  • Working Underground (Prima Records 1994)
  • Alone in Heaven (Intercont 1998)
  • Hotel of Three Beginnings (Intercont 1999)
  • Eleven (Jazz and more 2002)
  • Back to my Angel (Editura Muzicala 2002)
  • Viata Lumii (Jazz and more 2003)
  • Lumini (La Strada 2003)
  • Palindrome (Jazz and more 2004)
  • Notes on Music and Music Notes – double CD – anthology (Editura Muzeului
  • National al Literaturii Romane 2005)
  • Dark (Editura Muzeului National al Literaturii Romane 2006)
  • November (Openart records 2008)
  • Ulysses (Openart records 2008)
  • With “Interzone”: Interzone (Editura Casa Radio 2000)
  • Interzone plays with Adam Pieronczyk (Not Two 2001)
  • Crossing Atlas 45 (Not Two 2002)
  • Transylvanian Grace Shining of the Abyss (Jazz and more 2004)